Soy sauce, soya sauce or Shoyu!

A debate has broken out here in the office on the merits of the various soy/soya/shoyu sauces. As someone who rarely uses it as a condiment for dressing food (other than in Asian salad dressings) I’m pretty neutral – once it’s in a sauce and cooked I can’t tell any difference. I have 3 brands in the kitchen – including Kikkoman. Here’s where the debate stemmed from.

Is Kikkoman really the prince of soy sauces? A tricky one – especially if you consider the varieties from different cultures (with ‘respek’  to Wikipedia)

Types

I’d be very interested to hear anyone’s thoughts – Kikkoman makes claim to tbe the premium brand – can this be upheld or is it marketing hype?

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]

About chris

The eternal optimist...
This entry was posted in Chinese, Japanese. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Soy sauce, soya sauce or Shoyu!

  1. Sara says:

    Oh, good debate! I for one am completely devoted to Hawaiian Shoyu. My blog partner Kate told me how much she loved it and since I tried it, I’ve never gone back! We both love it so much that when she moved to Louisiana and couldn’t find it in the stores, I shipped her a whole box full!

  2. Mike says:

    Just passing by.Btw, your website have great content!

    _________________________________
    Making Money $150 An Hour

Leave a Reply

